IESF World Esports Championship in Bali
by Christopher Eluemuno in
eSports Betting News

India has become the latest country to qualify for the 2022 World Esports Championship, which is to be hosted by Bali, Indonesia.

The event, which is organized by the International Esports Federation (IESF), will see India compete in multiple esports titles, including Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, Tekken 7, and eFootball. The upcoming 14th World Esports Championship is scheduled to commence on December 1.

The international event will feature esports athletes from over 120 countries competing for championship titles across various esports titles. Six different esports titles will be available at the tournament, including PUBG Mobile, Dota 2, and for the first time, Mobile Legends: Bang Bang. The tournament has a prize pool of US$500,000.

Each esports title event will be hosted in a different venue across Bali. The PUBG Mobile event will be held at the Merusaka Hotel Nusa Dua, while the CS:GO event will take place in South Kuta.

In their CS:GO event, Team India will compete in Group C alongside Chile, Tajikistan, and Team IESF. The top two teams in the group will advance to the tournament’s playoffs.

India’s CS:GO roster will include Anshul “KiiLSwitCh” Adarkar, Shuvajyoti “Mcg1LLzZz” Chakraborty, in-game leader Ritesh “Defaulter” Sarda, Harsh “lynX” Jain, and Hrishikesh “Crazy_Gamer” Shenoy.

The team’s captain commented on India’s qualification for the 14th edition of the tournament. He expressed his excitement, describing it as “a great honor” to represent his country in the tournament.

“It’s been a great honor to represent India back-to-back in the WEC,” Defaulter said.

“We as a team are excited and prepared to play in the upcoming WEC starting next week in Bali. The world finals is going to be a huge spectacle. With the right mentality and proper grind, we have high hopes for the tournament and will try to bring the laurels to the country.”

In last year’s tournament, which was held in Eilat, Israel, Team India finished in eighth place. They will be looking to make a statement in this year’s iteration by securing a higher finish.

India’s debut match against Team Tajikistan might be their toughest matchup in the group. All matches in the group stage will be played in a best-of-one format.

Team India will be represented by Hitesh “Rcool” Khorwal at the Tekken 7 event. The tricolor team will compete in Group E alongside the Bahamas, Venezuela, and their South Asian counterparts Pakistan. Like the CS:GO event, the group stage will be played in a best-of-one format, with the top two players in the group advancing to the playoff stage.

On the eFootball front, Team India will be represented by Hemanth “Peshemak7” Kommu. He will be going up against representatives from Guinea, Armenia, and Kazakhstan in the Group P lineup.

More esports news

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Share Post:
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments