Call of Duty eSports betting tips and guide

The COD World League Championship has been discontinued, instead replaced with the Call of Duty League for the 2023 professional COD season.

The 2023 Call of Duty World League Season will run from December 2, 2022 until August 1, 2023, and see the best teams from around the globe shoot it out, with unmatched betting interest set to surround the event. All of the major esports betting sites will have extensive markets on the COD World League.

Running for the first time in 2016, the Call of Duty World League will be played for a sixth time on with this year’s tournament set to be played on PC on Call of Duty: Vanguard, with over USD $6 million in prize money to be handed out.

Here are out top Call of Duty betting sites geo-targeted for your convenience, or read below for further information about the 2023 COD World League.

United States Esports betting sites with CWL markets

Esports betting sites with CWL markets

#1 BetOnline

Fast Payouts

50% matched deposit up to USD $5,000

Available to residents of United States
#2 Bovada

Live Betting Odds

Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

Available to residents of United States

What is the COD World League

The Call of Duty World League is one of the world’s largest eSports tournaments. With a prize pool totalling more than $6 million for the 2023 season, it also stands as one of the most lucrative events in pro gaming.

Held annually to coincide with the release of every new Call of Duty video game, the CWL stands as a tour de force for the most competitive first-person shooter on the market.

The league culminates in the the COD World League Championships, which pits all of the qualified pro and amateur teams against each other, in a season-ending, big purse event.

So what is it about the tournament that makes it so special, and why do so many people tune in? Let’s take a look at the history and future of the Call Of Duty World League.

How to bet on CWL esports

Many of the world’s best esports betting sites regularly offer betting markets on Call of Duty World League events. The 2023 season has more fanfare, funding and popularity than its previous efforts, so be sure to join in on the discussion at Esportbet and keep us bookmarked for the latest match updates and betting guides.

If you’re new to betting online, please read our how to bet on esports guide to learn how to place a wager on your favourite Call of Duty pro gaming matches, and how the odds and betting types work. Readers from United States are recommended to check out BetOnline or any of the highest-rated sites listed in the table at the top of this page.

More detailed esports betting site reviews can be found in our best esports betting sites guide.

Call of Duty World League Odds

Below are the odds for a team “To Win” the CDL Championship (odds are correct as of May 1);

  • LA Thieves – +250
  • OpTic Texas – +300
  • Atlanta FaZe – +333
  • Toronto Ultra – +350
  • New York Subliners – +700
  • Seattle Surge – +800
  • Boston Breach – +2000
  • Minnestoa ROKKR – +2500
  • Las Vegas Legion – +25000
  • Florida Mutineers – +75000
  • LA Guerrillas – +100000
  • London Royal Ravens – +100000

History of the Call Of Duty World League

The Call of Duty World League kicked off its first ever season in January 2016, with Call Of Duty: Black Ops III on PlayStation 4 acting as the tournament’s game. It acted as a qualifier for the Call of Duty Championship, which hosts the world’s best teams and players, who battle it out for ultimate CoD supremacy. The prize pool started off at $3 million, half of which was designated for the Championship at the end of the season.

Call of DutyThe 2017 season expanded upon this concept, introducing the offline Pro League so the best Call of Duty players from around the world could compete in consistent high-level matches. It also marked the full return of open events, which gave amateur players a shot at playing against the greatest esports players in the game.

The 2018 season of the Call of Duty World League saw some new beginnings, with team banners introduced to recognise the accomplishments, history and champions of wining a CWL event.

Since the 2020 season the tournament transitioned to a five versus five format, prize money was increased to make it the largest tournaments in history, while region restrictions on LAN events have been lifted, meaning players from everywhere can qualify for the events.

Tournament organisers have also vowed they will release the weapons and equipments list well in advance of the CWL beginning.

Call of Duty World League structure and qualifiers

The tournament acts as a qualifier for the Championship, with regional qualifying events and online qualifiers for the League itself held at the end of the year prior. Teams that make the League then compete for a place in the Championship, which takes place before the launch of the next Call Of Duty in November.

There are two divisions: the Pro Division, and Challenge Division.

  • Pro Division

    The Pro Division is hosted across the globe at tournaments in North America, Europe, and Australia/New Zealand. The structure of these tournaments is different depending on the amount of teams competing, and all take place before the Championship.

    Nine teams from North America, six from EU, and one from APAC are placed in four groups, with placement dependent on how many points they earned during their respective regional qualifiers. The top eight teams will make it into the Stage 1 Playoffs, while the bottom four teams will compete in a relegation battle. At this point, new teams can compete for a spot in the Pro League in progression to Stage 2.

    The winners of the relegation battles will join the Stage 1 top teams in the second round, which ends with eight teams competing for prize money and seeding. Once a team makes it to stage 2, they are granted automatic inclusion in the Championship in June.

    COD World League Pro Division Logo

  • Challenge Division

    The Challenge Division acts as a qualifying for up-and-coming players, who can compete against similarly-skilled players for a place in the Championship. These qualifiers are LAN events, offer a prize pool albeit a smaller one compared to the Pro Division. Each competitor plays to earn World League points, which are then used to work towards a place at the Championship.

    COD World League Challenge Division Logo

Call of Duty World Championship

In the Call of Duty World Championship, 32 teams battle it out across multiple pools. 16 of the teams come from the Pro league, while the remaining 16 are made up of winning teams from the qualifying LAN events and regulation battles.

The odds for the 2023 edition of the Call of Duty: World League Championship have been released. Our top betting site that has CWL Championships for United States is BetOnline.

Call of Duty World League Winners And Prize Money

The 2021 League was won by Atlanta FaZe taking home $1.2 million in prize money, followed by 2022 League winners Los Angeles Thieves who also took home $1.2 million of the $2.55 million prize pool.

Call of Duty World Championship Winners

  • 2016: Team EnVyUS
  • 2017: Optic Gaming
  • 2018: Evil Geniuses
  • 2019: eUnited
  • 2020: Dallas Empire
  • 2021: Atlanta FaZe
  • 2022: Los Angeles Thieves
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments